Department of Pediatrics Previous Chairmen

From Left to Right: Richard T. Smith, Gerold L. Schiebler, Ian M. Burr, LHS Van-Mierop, Douglas J. Barrett, Terence R. Flotte, Richard L. Bucciarelli

Early in the 1960’s several graduates of the training program of the Department of Pediatrics, University of Florida, decided to meet annually as a social affair. As the group grew in size, it was felt they should formally organize.

In February 1969, the organizational plans were discussed with Dr. Mark Barrow, President of the College of Medicine Alumni Association and Dean Emmanuel Suter, Dean of the College of Medicine. Approval was granted for the establishment of the Association.

The Charter and Articles of Incorporation for the University of Florida Pediatric Alumni Association were approved by the State of Florida on November 5, 1969. In September 1976, the Association was granted tax exempt status under 501(c)3 as its activities were changed from social to educational, scientific and charitable. Scientific meetings were held to meet the Continuing Medical Education requirements of the Florida Medical Association (now the Florida Board of Medicine) and to enhance housestaff and in-service education.

In March 1984, the Association’s name was officially changed to Florida Pediatric Alumni Association, Inc.

Michael L. Steiner, M.D. and James G. White, M.D. were elected the first Co-Presidents in 1969. Meetings are held annually, usually in May. In 2005 the meetings were moved to the fall to take place in Gainesville at the time of a University of Florida Gator football home game.

The first annual dues assessed were $20 per year and are currently $50 per year. These dues are utilized to cover expenses of the guest lecturers, breaks, office supplies and operational expenses. The dues also supported housestaff travel to attend the annual meeting as well as donations to the housestaff library and other organizations.